top of page

What the...

A few weeks ago, I watched a documentary on Netflix, which I am sure most of you have either watched or have heard about at this point, called What The Health. The Documentary, in a nutshell, outlines the benefits of eating a plant based or vegan diet, and how we should focus our attention on what industries are being supported by their so-called "enemies." The documentary, although I feel was a bit one-sided, did a nice job at outlining some things that we as a community really should be paying attention to - where our food is coming from and who is funding those companies that we think are trying to help.

My take-away, which was not that I was going to switch to a plant-based vegan diet, was that we really need to be aware of where we are getting our food. My roommate's decision was to start moving in a plant based direction, which I found very intriguing. Regardless of our decisions, we both decided that it was important to start looking at the foods we were eating in a different type of light. To pay attention to the marketing schemes that companies pay billions of dollars to ensure that we are tricked into buying their products. To look and focus on the importance of ingredients. To learn the importance of organic vegetables, and farm-raised meats. To support local farmers markets that were keeping themselves sustainable. Most importantly, to listen to our bodies in how we feel when we eat certain foods, rather than listening to what other people have to say about what we should eat.

The million dollar thought. Who cares about what people say we should eat (to an extent, don't let your blood boil over this) if what you are eating makes you feel like shit? Should you eat gluten free, even if you do not have celiacs? I don't know, does your stomach hurt, are you groggy and fogged when you eat gluten - then don't eat it. It is truly amazing how powerful our bodies are, and when you start listening to what it has to say, this is when the "health" component of What The Health kicks in.

 

"I felt motivated to go vegan, not only for the benefits it has had on my body, but also for the environment. I have noticed a significant decrease in overall bloating in my body and no longer experience stomach aches like I used to. I also attribute my motivations to the book 'Natural Cures.' I was disturbed at the idea of how manipulative the government was, and how it blatantly and deliberately makes us sick through food." -Arielle Blanchett

 

After we watched this documentary, we took some time to re-evaluate the places we were deciding to eat out at, and to really pay attention to the groceries we were buying. We both led pretty healthy lives prior to this, but the importance of noticing labels and simply paying attention has made a huge difference.

In this quest, we discovered a restaurant, Cafe Gratitude. The name speaks for itself, and is a specialized restaurant focused on plant-based cuisines. Food made with love, so you can love yourself. A huge shout out to executive chef Seizan Dreux Ellis for creating a menu that reflects this mission, and for creating plant-based food that I can get behind.

The location I attended was downtown San Diego, located near Little Italy. The menu includes varies items such as Heirloom Potato French Fries, Coconut Ceviche, Buffalo Cauliflower, Falafel Wrap, Salads and more. Each menu item is listed under a phrase to make you feel all warm and cuddly inside; Fabulous ( Lasagna), Warm- Hearted (Polenta), Dazzling (Kale Salad). I sat there for a few minutes staring at the menu, wanting to order everything, and decided I would start with a Matcha Latte - quite possibly my favorite drink on the planet besides white wine. After some MAJOR contemplation, and convincing myself it was okay to order something different as I would be coming back, I decided on the Dynamic - a Samosa dish with a spicy tomato jam. The second photo, my roommates awesome sandwich. I also managed to get my hands on the Adoring Tiramisu to-go, and I was salivating all the way home.

My final review, amazing. The taste was incredible, and I was feeling very satisfied. The fact that I didn't feel gross after eating a meal, I did not feel bloated, or filled with grease, was amazing. I, myself, was a bit hungry, but I did order an appetizer dish. The pricing is a bit steep, but you are paying for a sustainable, delicious and healthy meal, which I feel is worth it.

Check them out HERE for a location nearest you.


bottom of page