top of page

A Bowl Full of Happiness

If you know me at all, you know that I have a serious love for sushi. That being said, eating healthy and eating sushi does not always mesh. Add the crunchies, the sauce on top and you are not exactly eating the most healthy fish dish. So i decided to take things into my own hands and create my own sushi, in a bowl. To get one thing straight, I am not claiming this is the most healthy dish, but the way I eat sushi, this was a better alternative (and much nicer to my wallet).

 

Grocery Shopping for the Essentials - you will need:

1. For the Sushi Rice

-2 cups of Sushi Rice

-1/2 cup Rice Vinager

-1 tablespoon Vegetable Oil

-1/4 cup White Sugar (feel free to use a sugar substitute if you do not want to use white sugar)

-1 teaspoon Salt

-3 cups water

2. 1 Avocado

3. 1 container Seaweed Salad

4. 1/4 pound Imitation Snow Crab (I found mine at Sprouts for $4.99 a pound)

5. 1/2 Choice of Fish (I chose Tuna, and for a cheaper option did not get POKE style fish, i decided to sear both sides and eat it medium rare)

6. 1 Pinch of sushi style ginger

7. Sriracha Mayo (you can purchase at the store, or mix sriracha and mayo together until spicy enough for you)

8. Soy Sauce Low Sodium

9. 1 teaspoon minced garlic

10. Mirin (A sweet cooking sauce)

**This was enough for 3 full meals, and I even had leftover rice.

 

First thing is first, marinate the fish. I put my tuna in a small bowl, and added the Minced Garlic, Soy Sauce and Mirin. You want enough sauce to fill to the top of the tuna, so your entire piece of fish is marinating. (Simple Tip: You can also add fish to a plastic bag). Place back into the refrigerator, and let marinate for at least one hour.

To make the Sushi Rice, it is quite simple. (I would say start cooking the rice 30 minutes after you have placed the tuna in the fridge). Boil water in a pot, large enough to fit 2 cups of rice. When the water is boiling, place the 2 cups of rice into the pot. Cover and turn flame down to low. Let rice sit for about 20 minutes, stirring every so often so the rice does not stick to the bottom of the pot. After 20 minutes the rice should be soft and tender and the water should be absorbed. If your rice is not quite as tender as you would like, keep cooking until all the water is gone and it is nice and soft.

Place the remaining ingredients into a pan - Rice Vinegar, Vegetable Oil, Sugar, Salt - until the sugar has dissolved. I like my rice a little sweeter, so i did not wait until it was fully dissolved. Let this cool for a few minutes (or place in the fridge if you are inpatient and hungry like me). Once cool, add to the rice and stir until the rice doesn't look "wet".

Take a pot, and heat with a small drizzle of avocado oil (or whatever oil you keep for cooking). Once pot is hot, add the tuna to sear both sides. The top will turn a brown color (from the soy sauce), and once it looks a little brown you can flip. You want the middle to still be raw, or cook to preference. While your tuna is searing, which should only take a few minutes, feel free to cut the avocado and the Snow Crab.

Now you are done! Place the rice on the bottom, and carefully place each item into its own section of the bowl. Place the avocado slices on top, and add the sriracha mayo. This is one of my favorites, so i went a little crazy!


bottom of page