top of page

SUSHI LOUNGE: Point Loma Edition

For the last few years, my obsession with Sushi has become very apparent to family and friends around me. The conversation of, "what do you feel like eating," never really happens because they know my answer will always be sushi. My family is always on board, so its never an issue.

A few years ago I discovered Sushi Lounge in Encinitas, which soon became my second sushi home. The staff was amazing, the food was delicious and fresh and I constantly walked out with a happy heart and a happy belly. About a year ago, I moved to Point Loma, which has been one of the best decisions ever. This move meant no more daily visits to Sushi Lounge.

NOW - being the best news ever - THEY ARE OPEN IN POINT LOMA. The Sushi Lounge, Point Loma Edition, is open for business and better than ever. The location is right in the midst of shelter island, off Rosecrans, and offers a modern touch on the sushi industry. Point Loma is already a fish town, with the harbor so close, so you can only imagine how fresh and amazing the fish is at this location. There are plenty of tables, lots of room at the sushi bar and an overall welcoming feel.

When you first walk in, there is an outside bar that is connected to the corner of the restaurant. Such a cool idea, and really gives you the perception that you are outside with the open side window panels. The bar is sake, wine, beer and sake cocktails (which have proven to be amazing). Inside, there is about 22 seats at the bar, and plenty of tables to go around. The few times I have been in since they have opened, they have filled the restaurant pretty quickly! Parking can be an issue in that area, however I have not had any issues so far. I parked one block down, but hey, I needed the FitBit steps!

Now, the important thing, the food. It is really hard for me to choose a favorite, because I have been eating here for so long, but I can tell you that everything I have had is amazing. Below is a small list of my favorites!

 

Favorite Rolls:

Tasmanian Devil

Tsunami

Happy Wife

The Chuck Norris

Chronic

Favorite Non-Roll Items:

Ahi Poke

Citrus Yellow Tail Sashimi

Mini Ahi Tacos

Hamachi Kama

Garlic Edamame (Pro-Tip: check in on Facebook and you get this for free!)

 

The fish is so fresh, that everything melts in your mouth as you eat it. The staff is so friendly and are so knowledgeable about the rolls that you are eating. In this day and age, i think it is really important to be aware of the things that we are eating, and It is important to know what you are eating. It means a lot to me, when I can see the chefs making food, even from a table, as I know that they are not hiding anything. They want to listen, and truly care about your eating experience. I had the pleasure of speaking with the manager on the first weekend they opened, and it is amazing to see how dedicated she is to the craft. My roommate also happens to work at this location, so if you happen to go in, make sure to give Arielle a little shout out.

 

If you are reading this early enough, they are having a Grand Opening Part on Thursday 09/29/2016 from 4 pm to close. There will be raffles and prizes, and benefits the YMCA in Point Loma. check out the website for more information here!

 

I am excited to form the friendships with the staff at Point Loma that I was able to form at Encinitas, and I am so excited that I can eat at my favorite restaurant more often. Expensive habit, or delicious addiction? You decide!

Lets Chat! What is your favorite sushi roll?


bottom of page